An increasing number of children have become hooked on fast food and aerated drinks that do not provide much nutrition. This poor diet has led to a rise in obesity among children. What are the problems that are associated with obesity in children and what steps could be taken to prevent it?

In the past few years, a growing number of children have become obese because of being more fascinated towards non-nutritious food. Excessive fat can cause serious problems in the kids such as vulnerability to other chronic diseases and depression. To prevent this parents can encourage their kids to eat more nutritious food and indulge them in a more active lifestyle instead of a sedentary one. One main problem associated with obesity is that it can stunt the growth of young ones and make them vulnerable to other chronic diseases like diabetes and other heart issues. This could be because accumulated fat and junk foods can make them lethargic and exhaust them early during physical activity, which is essential for the growth of their body. Additionally, they may also develop depression and anxiety because of being harassed by their fellow students and friends over their overweight. According to several studies, bullies target those children who can be easily body-shamed. Hence, obesity in youngsters is an alarming situation and parents should take some serious steps to avert it. There are two clear steps which could be taken to prevent overweight conditions. First of all, stimulate the children to prefer healthy food more. For instance, as these junk foods are generally eye catchy and taste heavenly to the palate, parents can prepare different healthy dishes at home and garnish them before serving them to their young ones so that the food should appear fascinating to them. Secondly, indulge the kids in more physical activities apart from their studies. For example, they can make a habit of playing their favourite sport daily for at least an hour besides their studies. The more they will do physical work, the more they will remain in shape and achieve full body growth. In conclusion, I believe that obesity in youngsters can cause stunted growth, depression and vulnerability to several other diseases in them. However, stimulating them to prefer nutritious food over junk food and indulging them in any physical activity daily can prevent it.