As global trade increases, many goods, including those we use on a daily basis, are produced in other countries and have to be transported long distances. Do the benefits of this trend outweigh the drawbacks?

Nowadays, many goods, including the basic daily needs, are distributed from around the world because of the global trading system. These export & import mechanisms have their positive and negative impact. However, in my opinion the global market system has more benefits than its drawbacks, although each country needs to calculate the risk to minimize the potential negative impact. First, the most significant positive impact of international market mechanism is its potential to elevate the national economy in every country. In macroeconomic perspective, if a state can sell more products, especially the local commodities and high-valued manufacturing products, their GDP (Gross Domestical Product) will increase subsequently. Furthermore, it will affect another social-economy parameter such as reducing the unemployment and strengthening the state currency. However, it also has several drawbacks, which must be considered by the authorities, especially when the government produce the policy about import. Since the rule about how people could buy a thing from other countries can influence the price of local commodities. Indonesia, a southeast Asian country near pacific region, has various experiences about import policies that failed in the practical. For instance, its decision to deliver non-local chillies during the peak of demand time, made most of local farmer failed to sell their chillies to the market because the price was to low. In conclusion, global market system can be a potential opportunity to every country to fulfil their necessity, it is also can be a chance to advertise and sell any nation’s local commodity to bigger markets. However, there are several risks that must be calculated in order to keep the local economy remains stable. The country governments have to be wise in producing their economic policies