Fossil fuels are essential for producing electricity, powering industry and fueling transportation. However, one day we will reach a point when all the world’s fossil fuels have been depleted. How can we conserve these resources? What are some alternatives to fossil fuels?

The world currently relies heavily on fossil fuels, but there will come a time when these run out. This essay will discuss how we can help to conserve resources by limiting car usage and it will name some alternatives that can be harnessed to generate power. The primary thing to preserve the overuse of fossil fuels is by lessening individuals' reliance on cars. It could be started by switching to public transport for a long journey or walking for a short journey. These steps will encourage people to leave their cars in the garage, thus, reducing fuel burning. Another way to reduce our fuel consumption is by car sharing. This scheme will reduce the number of cars on the road as more passengers contain within a single car. For instance, car ownership in Tokyo is far lower than in Jakarta because they have great public transport that discourages individuals to use their cars if the distance is near. The most sustainable options other than fossil fuels are the generation of natural power, such as the sun, wind, wave, and tidal. These resources are heavily present in our surroundings and have big potential ready to be harnessed. Moreover, the cost of building a natural plant is more or less the same as a fossil plant, making natural sources interesting to invest. For example, the Netherlands, popular with its heavy cyclone season, builds many wind plants to electricize half of their regions with the cost of only half of building a coal plant. In conclusion, fossil fuels will not last forever as our power source backbone because of its limitation. Hence, using renewable sources such as the sun, wind, and tidal is the feasible alternative source while we reduce our reliance by decreasing our car usage.