Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

While some people tend to play computer games for recharging themselves or learning something, others hold the idea that video games impact players negatively. In my opinion, I completely consider that playing video games brings more disadvantages than advantages because people are more likely to be addicted to this type of game. On the one hand, we have to recognize that electronic games on computers or Xbox can benefit some people to some degree. There is a shooting game, for example, which is always leveraged to help soldiers to stimulate an atmosphere close to real wars. In other words, soldiers can improve their reaction speed, concentration and mental activity by repeatedly practising in shooting games. Besides, some people who always feel alone or have mental illness can attain the opportunity to communicate with gamers, helping them reduce mental pressure and enjoy the joy brought by games. Therefore, video games actually provide some people with positive impacts. On the other hand, I would argue that these are outweighed by the drawbacks. Gaming is highly addictive since it always exposes players to fierce fights, stunning special effects and constantly updated targets. Both of these aspects unconsciously keep people playing, particularly teenagers who have less self-control. In several countries, many children now spend hours each day trying to progress through the levels of a game or to get a higher score than their friends. This type of addiction can have effects ranging from lack of sleep to problems at school when homework is sacrificed for a few more hours on the computer or console. The rise in obesity in recent years has also been linked in part to the sedentary lifestyle and lack of exercise that often accompany gaming addiction. In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential dangers of video games are more significant than the possible benefits.