In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Nowadays, transportation is considered crucial for everyone. People have different views about whether the major spending on transport should be on novel railways or updating the current system. In my opinion, expenditure is necessary on both equally to achieve short- and long-term goals. This essay will discuss both views. On the one hand, providing large amounts of money on building new train systems is vital for various causes. Trains has the privilege of reaching distant areas comfortably and conveniently. Therefore, new places can be inhabited and solve the problem of the overcrowded cities. Moreover, railway line enables many people to travel together and reduce the usage of private transport. Accordingly, that will reduce gas emissions and act as a solution for global warming. Hence, railways are significant in transporting people. On the other hand, renovation of the existing public transportation systems has its own advantages. Firstly, money required for modernization are far less than developing new systems. Consequently, this will not significantly affect the general spending programs of the government. Secondly, improving the old transport will be rapid as the infrastructure is already available. Finally, people are already used to certain routes to reach their destinations, so when the previous transport methods are improved, they will witness and be satisfied of the changes instantly. Thus, benefits of modernizing the current ways are more important. In conclusion, the debate about the percentage of spending on each category of transport will continue, but comfort of commuters should be considered the priority of the government.