Fossil fuel is the main source of energy. In some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged. To what extent do you think is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, fossil fuel plays a fundamental role in supplying energy. Meanwhile, some nations are implementing other alternative sources of generating power. Personally, while consuming fossil fuels provide irresistible advantages, developing substitute sources should be promoted. On the one hand, fossil fuels may be beneficial to some extent. First of all, fossil fuels are one of the most cost-effective sources of energy. To be more specific, while the process of refinement and extraction is comparatively expensive, the amount of money returned after selling this product is extremely considerable. As a result, this will elevate the economic growth speed of one country to an unprecedented level. Some nations which perfectly exemplify the statement are Saudi Arabia, Qatar and UAE. Additionally, fossil fuels can be exploited easily with simple equipment. Therefore, this helps companies and governments save money to invest in other categories like education or medicine. On the other hand, I believe that other renewable energy sources should be used more. Firstly, these energy sources are completely environmentally friendly. In fact, they release very little, or even no harmful emissions into the air when being used in production or running vehicles. For instance, wind energy helps avoid roughly 329 million metric tons of carbon dioxide annually. Moreover, alternative energy is endless. More specifically, while fossil fuel will run out in 40 to 60 years, the sun will always shine, the wind will always blow and the Earth will always have geothermal energy, for example. Therefore, this ensures stable long-term development for the government. In conclusion, while fossil fuels are very cheap and do not require complicated techniques to be harnessed, I maintain that the benefits of alternative energy, including protecting the environment and unlimited resources, are more significant.