Nowadays celebrities earn more money than politicians. What are the reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, it is true that the income of celebrity figures including movie stars, singers and sports celebrities are dramatically higher than governors and public servants. This essay will analyze the possible reason for this trend, using examples from Nike company and Oxford University to demonstrate points and prove that why this is a negative development. On the one hand, there are numerous factors contributing to this situation. The major one is that the potential business value of famous stars is huge and such value can be reflected on their wages. In this consumeristic society, they could generate a large amount of profit for companies through attending commercial events including celebrity endorsements. For example, Recent annual financial reports of the Nike company shows that only in the field of basketball equipments, the endorsements by famous NBA stars including Leborn LeBron James and Kevin Durant have contributed over 1.5 billion dollars revenues over the last 5 years. On the contrast, politicians may not have such influence, thus failing to bring about such benefits in business area. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that politicians cannot earn as much as celebrities can due to the disparity of contributions to the business. On the other hand, this essay believes this tendency is negative owing to its two adverse impacts on society. One of the indicators is that celebrities' high earnings are likely to court media publicity regarding their extravagant lifestyles, which would set a bad example to the young generation. It is common that some famous internet-based video uploaders, who have earned much money, show off their luxury cars and lavish goods they use on the internet. While most young adults would be influenced adversely. For instance, an intensive study By Oxford University indicates that over 60% of British teenagers under 16 states that they tend to prefer being a Youtuber to other jobs. Another factor is that people's attention to politics may be reduced. With a increasing number of people divert their attention to famous individuals rather than politicians, there will be less supervisions to the authorities and their decisions toward society. As a result, political professionals could fail to finish their tasks effectively and social problems might not be solved on a timely manner due to the lack of supervisions on governments. In conclusion, famous people can earn much higher than politicians due to the fact they can generate huge revenue for the companies. However, this trend is detrimential to the society as it affects young people badly and divert people's focus from politics.