Some people opine that increasing office hour is a reason for many social and personal problems and that is why it should be reduced to 35 hours in a week. What are the advantages and disadvantages of reducing the working week to 35 hours?

In the competitive environment, many organisations are increasing their working hours which leads to various social and personal problems. Many people believe that cutting down office hours may lead to the betterment of individuals both personally and socially. This essay will discuss various benefits and drawbacks of reducing office timings to 35 hours a week. On the one hand, a reduction in work pressure will allow individuals to invest their time in other productive activities such as spending time with family, and hanging out with friends and above all they can focus on their personal development by joining a regular gym or following their hobby. For instance, my grandfather used to spend his leisure time gardening and watering plants as he was satisfied with his job with an ideal shift. Therefore, it not only provides contentment to the people but also makes them happier than the folks doing overtime. On the other hand, spending less time in offices doing work can also build bad habits among the young generations as they will not understand their duties and will be satisfied with their earnings. Further, they will lose the importance of hard work. This can lead to more parties, and more wastage of time and thereby the whole economy will suffer. For example: one of my friends got addicted to drugs as he used to be free during the weekends and in the evenings, as their company followed a culture of working 35 hours a week. In the conclusion, I would say that minimising working time could be both beneficial and destructive at the same time. However, one has to understand and manage their time as per their own interests. It is always in our hands to set priorities in our lives. Therefore, no matter how long or underpaid your job is, you have to give time to your loved ones and at the same time should focus on your own well-being as well.