You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people think that the government should strictly control the supply of fresh water, as it is a limited resource, while others it should not be regulated. Discuss both sides and give your opinion. Write at least 250 words.

Fresh water is becoming a scarce resource across the world due to the increase in population and urbanisation. It is frequently argued that the supply for fresh water should be curbed by implementing policies and strategies by governments. However, certain people believe that it should not be controlled. This essay will discuss both these points of view and provides my opinion. First off, governments should implement strategies to control the supply of fresh water like increasing the tax, price or limit supplying of water. This would help countries to reduce wastages and people with unlimited water supply might undertstand the importance of water due to this control. For example, almost 40% of the fresh water are used for livestock farming and large corporations. Therefore, general public tend to have less water for their day-to-day lives. Further, when governments start to control the water, it may create a monopoly situation all over the world. Certain political parties may exploit this opportunity to rule the country for a foreseeable future. On the other hand, when the fresh water is not controlled by the governments,large amounts of water could be wasted. Generally, people will not understand the importance of essential resources when they are in abudanance. Therefore, this would lead to water shortage in few decades across the world. For instance, general public and corporations may use water without a limit and certain parts of the world is becoming as a waste or dry land. Those lands cannot be used to grow plants or trees. This may lead to food shortage in the long run. In my opinion, fresh water should be controlled to certain corporations and large scale livestock farmers who waste huge amounts of water for their production process. Recent studies revealed that if the amounts of water used by these large companies are controlled, it may save 40% of fresh water every year. Therefore, It is important to impose control on people or corporations responsible for the wastage. To conclude, water wastage is high all over the world, it could be controlled by enforcing tight controls on people and companies responsible for large water wastage since when the water is not controlled, people will not understand the importance of the natural resource and it may be come inaccessible for many people around the world.