The prison system has not been effective at reforming criminals. A large number of convicted felons return to committing crimes soon after being released. What are the problems with the prison system and what solution can you recommend to address this issue?

The prison system has proven to be ineffective at reformation of criminals. It has been observed that a majority of convicted felons turn towards the world of crime as soon as they are released from prison. One of the possible causes of this problem can be the inside environment of prisons. The harsh behaviour of prison guards towards the inmates can create negativity inside them for others. Also, in prisons, the prisoners are surrounded by other criminals at all times, this does not allow them to change. In my opinion, these problems can be addressed by organizing regular counselling sessions for prisoners. I believe that through the these sessions, the inmates will be able to remove the negative thoughts or feelings from their minds. Also, some laws should be enforced to ensure that prison guards should not take undue advantage of the inmates. These laws should also ensure that the guards are not being partial to any of the inmates. In conclusion, I believe that how the criminals are being treated inside the prison plays a crucial role in their journey of reformation. Also, certain legal steps should be taken to ensure that the prisoners are not being treated badly inside prisons. I am certain that regular counselling sessions for the inmates can be a key solution to most of these issues.