Meat production requires relatively more land than crop production. Some people think that as land is becoming scarce, the world's meat consumption should be reduced. What measures could be taken to reduce the world's meat consumption? What kinds of problem might such mesures cause?

Nowadays, more and more people are starting to be vegetarian or even vegan, which has not only a positive impact on the carbon footprint but also on land use. Meat production needs much more land than crop production because for the animals we need the land to grow the crops that will afterwards be given to the animals, which also need a lot of space for their living. It is therefore agreed that meat consumption should be enormously reduced. In this review I will analyse the educational impact and the vegetarian alternatives to meat. First of all, people need to get proper education about this subject. People need to be educated about the current problems, in order to start caring about them and changing their eating behaviour. For example, many people don't even know about the problems of meat production, so we can't blame them for eating meat, if they like the taste of it. If society would put more attention to this subject, folks would probably reduce a little their consumption. Secondly, we should get better meat alternatives. There are already more and more good vegan and vegetarian alternatives on the market, but if we would get even more choices, and people would be willing to try them out, we could definitely reduce meat consumption in society. This would also have a positive effect on global health. In conclusion, if we would educate people about meat consumption problems and the positive effects it has on the environment and our health, and get more meat alternatives, meat consumption could maybe get reduced in this society. This in return would help to reduce land scarcity. And we shouldn't forget about the positive effects it would have on climate change.