Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance listening from the internet rather than in the classroom. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

In this present world,the usage of the internet is constantly on the rise. Although the traditional learning system has some merits,an increasing number of universities and colleges are focusing on online learning programs. This essay will discuss both sides of this argument and why I think distance education has more advantages. On the one hand, face-to-face interaction can be helpful for teachers controlling their students in the classroom. For instance, it is widely known that students need to be thoroughly regulated when they are taking exams in the classroom. Nevertheless, taking tests via the internet at home will make teachers incapable of overseeing them. As a result,they may copy answers from other ones or search for the keys through Google. This is the main reason why some people believe that students should go to the classroom physically. On the other hand, online learning can provide a much cheaper alternative for students who do not afford to pay tuition fees. In particular, the Coursera diploma costs only around $5000. In contrast,a reputed degree from universities costs approximately $50,000. Moreover, students no longer need to commute to colleges during rush hours if they choose to take virtual classes. In addition, this also contributes to solving traffic congestion and reducing carbon emissions. In conclusion,despite the fact that students could be better supervised in the classrooms. I hold the belief that distance learning has more benefits than drawbacks,not only because the students are able to save capital for their future and save more time to dedicate to their weak subjects,but also because it is more environmentally friendly.