In some countries, most people prefer to rent their homes rather than buying them. What are the advantages and disadvantages of renting a home?

More and more people all around the world nowadays opt for a rental home rather than their own house or flat. But why is that? Do benefits of such an accommodation overweigh drawbacks? In this essay, I am going to discuss both advantages and disadvantages of renting a home and figure out the answer. Taking into consideration that the clients in the rental services, mostly, are those people who do not have a financial opportunity to buy a home or pay mortgage, the main benefit turns to be very obvious. Renting is the only chance for them to have home at all. What is more, absence of responsibilities in front of the banks gives a unique opportunity to be absolutely free and move to another flat or even relocate to another continent immediately. Living in the era of constantly accelerating technological progress, people have to be ready to adapt to the new circumstances as fast as the world around changes. However, while someone appreciate freedom the most, another prefers stability that is not achievable while they do not own the home where they live. One more really significant disadvantage of renting flat, that, however, takes place not in every country, is the fact that not having the home, people in their old age risk to stay without any accommodation at all due to extremely low pensions. According to statistics, more than 50% of homeless people in Russia are pensioners who merely cannot allow a rental flat or even a room. To sum up, not only is renting a home a great alternative that gives unforgettable sense of freedom, but it also can cause the really tremendous problems such as homelessness.