These days, older people who have retired often choose to spend money on themselves (for example on holidays) rather than save money for their children. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, pensioners, people who retired from job, like spending their money for their own expenses like going to holidays instead of sparing money for their children. Personally I think it is positive development as old people should live the life they want, without saving money for their children. From one side, if parents economise their money and give a hand to children of their it will in some cases help for the child to grow and gain better knowledge. The reason is studying at better schools or in a private schools will give much better knowledge, also they would live higher than average class children as it gives more confidence to a child. For instance, living in a well-equipped house with computers or containing all the necessary technological equipments can make a child to study harder as well as in good conditions which helps for better performance. However, above mentioned are good but old people also should rest, as they want to travel and go on vacations, and live without denying themselves anything, because it is the best time to do this when one have retired, have enough money and realising that it is almost end of their life should live beyond thinking about anything. Moreover, going on vacations and seeing places abroad can extend their lifetime as it gives the feeling of pleasure. In conclusion, older people should better spend their money for their personal pleasure, as their children can reach everything on their own, I think.