As global trade increase many goods including those we use on daily basis are produced in other countries and have to transported long distance. Do benefits of this trend outweigh disadvantages?

There is no doubt that advances in technology have enhanced trading between countries. It is believed that products we use on daily basis are mostly imported from overseas. This essay will explore both, the advantages and the disadvantages of this proposal. To begin with, goods are easily transported from one country to another with the introduction of air transport. People have more choices, in addition to locally made items. For example, the British can now enjoy tropical fruits such as mangos, durians, and mangosteens, which are usually not available in their country. Moreover, some of these imported goods are actually cheaper than local products. This encourages consumers to support and purchase items that are produced in other countries. On the other hand, a surge in imported items has negatively impacted local farmers. As people favour goods from other countries, there is a decrease in sales of local goods. Thus, local farmers have lower incomes and they may eventually lose their jobs. An increase in the unemployment rate will have a detrimental effect on a country's economy as well. In addition, goods from foreign countries are usually transported over a long distance. This consumes a huge amount of fossil fuels, which leads to an increase in air pollution. Greenhouse gases that are emitted from the combustion of fuels contribute to global warming as well. In conclusion, in my opinion, the increase in the usage of imported goods has more drawbacks compared to benefits. Hence, people should support local products instead of imported ones.