Society would benefit from a ban on all kinds of advertising because it serves no useful purposes and can even be damaging. Do you agree or disagree?

It is clear that the advertising industry has been booming around the world over the past few decades. Although the abuse of creativity in advertising has caused some complaints about appropriateness in some cases, I think the long-term impacts on society should be considered significant. It seems unreasonable to conclude that advertising has no positive effects on consumers. Firstly, newly launched products would remain unknown to prospective customers, especially those products in high demand. For example, without advertising on TV or social media, businesses’ new products could not reach out their potential customers, leading to limited choices for consumers to choose proper and affordable products. Secondly, every single business is obligated to pay an amount of taxes to the government. In fact, in addition to several taxes, businesses also make an effort to produce a large amount of revenue in order to cover considerable operating costs, which helps them remain operational and creates more job opportunities. Moreover, dependency on advertising is inevitable for any nation to become prosperous. First, once commercials are prohibited by law, unemployment rates would increase. For instance, a company needs to lay off its existing staff in an attempt to reduce the financial burden, which makes social security systems more unstable and weaker. Second, governments have to offer financial support packages to many businesses. In fact, most governments would be under a lot of financial pressure to save companies by settling huge debts and they have to choose which companies are saved, this forces businesses which are not given financial support to declare bankruptcy. In conclusion, despite the fact that advertisements of all types can influence our lives in some negative ways, they also bring both customers and consumers a great number of benefits. By giving more accurate information, each business can significantly boost its earnings.