For many young people today, shopping is their favourite free time activity. Why do you think this has happened? Should young people be encouraged to do different activities in their free time? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

In recent times, a lot of young people are keen on shopping rather than other activities in their leisure time. There are two main reasons why they follow this trend are shopping creates satisfaction and is also a way to kill their time. However, it can offer many diasadvantages. So they had better be involved with other activies such as doing sports or social activities. First of all, young people feel more satisfied when they go shopping. In other words, they may feel more happier on which they are in stores, look and try on items of the new collection. For instance, teenagers undergo a feeling of terrific when they have received a new pair of sneakers that they ordered on Amazon- an online purchase platform. Secondly, young people have more free time to spare so they go shopping to kill their time. It means besides going to school on weekdays, they have nothing to do at the weekend. Therefore they go to supermarkets or malls to fill their empty time. For example, their parents are absolutely busy with their business and they just give their children money without spend time with them. This causes young people feel alone and shopping is effective for them to feel less empty. Finally, young people should be stimulated to take part in other social activities because this makes them more active and energetic. Consequently, it is really good for their mental and physical health. To conclude, many young people usually spend their time going shopping but their parents should advise them to take part in other activities.