Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge

History has always been an unavoidable subject for students in their school curriculum, however this has been debatable for quiet some time whether it is really necessary for students to spend their days learning the past events. People have been arguing with the school syllabus to include practical subjects like science and technology more to the kids' curriculum. In this essay I will hereby state my opinion on the same. History has been a part of the 4 major subjects based on which the students are graded for the next grade, However some parents argue that schools should not focus much on history, the reason being, As it is already easily accessible on internet students do not need to spend years learning the dates and the events from the past which might not actively help them with their goals. Instead practical subjects like science and technology should be the major focus along with literature. While, on one hand it is important for children to understand the history of the land the live on and study the culture they follow, However this can easily be learnt on internet. Schools sure should focus more on subjects like mathematics, science, economics, finance and its practical implications as such. For example the financial literacy rate of Indian students is only 24%, which means only 24% of the youth in India knows how to manage their money and balance between income, expenditures, saving and investments. To say learning historic dates and the stories of the British invasion and freedom does not help young people to balance their life. Schools are responsible for shaping a child's future and youth, hence subjects like history can sure be omitted once a child reaches a particular age, from where they need to learn how to deal with the real world instead of learning historic dates. Therefore my opinion has been biased towards the later argument, where students should be taught more of the hands-on subjects than history.