Which do you prefer: a high-paying job with long hours or a lower-paying job with shorter hours? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

It is clear that the number of working hours spent at work is significantly increasing nowadays. Although people can earn higher salaries if they have extended hours of work, I think it is much better to limit working hours for a variety of reasons. The frequency of long hours at work adversely affects employees' health and productivity. Firstly, the well-being of employees could be harmful if they do not have enough time to recover after a hard day of work. For example, individuals may become victims of unexpected diseases such as hypertension or even stroke due to high tension over a long period of time. Secondly, working capacity would decrease gradually because of a higher amount of sick leaves or less concentration on details. As a result, the performance level is most likely affected seriously since tasks and assignments could be delayed, which makes it harder for companies to compete with their competitors. In addition, busy working schedules have a severe impact the on work -life balance. The first reason is that individuals do not spend enough time with their family members because of their willingness to work overtime. This makes their family relationship become weakened, leading to a lack of close and warm connection between parents and their children. The second reason is related to the shortage of spare time for hobbies. In fact, a huge amount of work requires workers to spend more time at their workplaces, so they find it harder to take up their hobbies such as photography or stamp collection to get rid of stress. In conclusion, working shorter hours is outweighed by longer working time at work. Therefore, both entrepreneurs and working individuals should be aware of the aforementioned negative effects so that they can deter unexpected consequences and achieve work -life balance.