Some say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group acitivities in their free time. Others say that this is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There is no doubt that time is precious and each person has to make use of his or her free time wisely. Some have argued that parents should ask their children to participate in group events during their leisure time, while others think that it is crucial for children to learn how to utilise their free time on their own. This essay will explore both aspects, however, in my opinion, parents should encourage their sons and daughters to participate in school activities. To begin with, children can gain a lot of benefits through group activities in schools. They can pick up interpersonal skills and soft skills that are very important in the future. For example, research showed that leaders in famous companies participated in at least one extracurricular activity during high school. Furthermore, children can interact with people from different backgrounds through participation in group events. Thus, widening their circle of friends. They get to build new friendships and share their feelings with others. On the other hand, children should be given the freedom to decide what to do during their free time. Every child has their own interests and they should be allowed to learn how to occupy their time wisely. By doing so, children are more likely to be independent and not rely on their parents. For instance, when children grow up and leave their parents in the future, their parents will not be around to give them advice and guidance. Children have to be self-disciplined enough to utilise their time wisely. In conclusion, both aspects are beneficial in their own ways. However, I believe that children should participate in group events in their free time to gain invaluable experiences.