Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this contemporary epoch, while filling out the form at the hiring process some individuals ask their new hires to fill in their personal information such as their marital status, hobbies, and interests. A certain number of people consider it useful whereas critics disagree with the fact of providing personal details. In my opinion, personal data must be disclosed. This essay will delve into both opinions and will lead to a logical conclusion as well. To begin with, the most prominent reason to fill all the personal information is that it helps the prior staff to understand their new colleague in a short period without any hardships. They can gossip during their work hour depending upon the common interest field that helps them not to get bored while working. Moreover, if employers as well as colleagues know that their workmate is married and has kids then they can manage the work accordingly to render them some quality time with their family members on some special occasions such as birthdays, or marriage anniversaries. On the flip side, some employers and colleagues start dominating their mates on the basis of their hobbies. For instance, if a worker likes drinking or smoking, they might start considering them as drug-addicted which is not true. Furthermore, married women will need to face some special hate as they may consider that they can provide their full potential to the company because they might be worried about their husbands and kids as well. Thus, it is apparent why numerous people are against this trend. According to my opinion, providing personal details should be vital because it helps to increase coordination and understanding between co-workers. However, if people get dominated due to their hobbies or personal status then there should be some strict policies for them to stop such actions otherwise, the repercussions could be disruptive as it could lead to damage to the goodwill of the company in the market. To conclude, as per the matrimonial mentioned above it is crystal clear that it is relentlessly necessary to disclose personal information to the company but, it is also vital to stop judgements made on the basis of personal data in firms.