Some people say patriotism causes problems and is negative overall. Others feel that it is beneficial for society at large. Do the advantages of patriotism outweight its disadvantages?

It is considered by some that being passionate about the motherland arises many problems while there are others who think that it is an advantage to society. I strongly advocate the latter opinion. Even though excessive love for one's motherland can lead to wars among countries, it is easy to build a nation strongly when it has many patriotic citizens. Excessive patriotic feelings can be harmful as it would make citizens in that country look down on other nations. It can be dangerous because it can lead to wars among countries. For instance, during my PhD, I met a batch mate who believes that his country is the best in the world and dislikes students from nations that pose a threat to his country. This led to many unpleasant occasions during student gatherings. However, I believe that it is important for a person to have a bond with his native land. As such, when citizens are fond of their country, they have the urge to develop and protect it. If every country has patriotic citizens, then the world will have many developed countries. For example, Japan has become one of the most developed countries in the world because its people loved their country and wanted it to stand tall among the world's giants. Moreover, when society cherishes their nation, they are less likely to migrate in search of better opportunities. As a result, the country will not suffer from brain drain. In conclusion, I strongly believe that the advantages of being patriotic are beneficial compared to the disadvantages it has. Although patriotic residents in a particular country may behave superior to other countries, it is an important human virtue that flourished and defend nations for centuries.