It is sometimes said that the countryside offers a high quality of life, especially for families. What are the arguments for and against families choosing to live and work in the countryside, for example as farmers?What is your own view about this?

Many people are of the opinion that It is better for families to live in rural areas because of its higher quality of life. While I agree with the idea that the countryside shows long-term advantages in terms of health and life, I believe that there are a host of drawbacks to mention. There are many compelling reasons why the countryside brings a myriad of rewards to farmers which go beyond material considerations. The first obvious one is that the environment is filled with unpolluted air, and the pace of life is tranquil which is conducive to people’s health and psychological health. Not to mention, without the hustle and bustle of city life, people in far-flung areas tend to be more kind and genuine. Last but least, living in the rural backwater as a self-sufficient smallholder offers individuals the to lead a healthier lifestyle. There is an abundance of natural resources at the subsistence level that provide rural dwellers with green vegetables and foods grown by their own hands, helping them stay away from excessively fertilized and chemically contaminated food that is on full display in every market. On the other hand, there is a scarcity of schools, and education and fewer job opportunities in rural areas which may lead to unemployment and long-term poverty. Because of the lack of cutting-edge facilities, people will be isolated from contemporary society and in the worst-case scenario, the young generation will decide to leave their hometown to have a better life which leads to rural depopulation. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, it seems that living in the rural backwater brings more benefits for everyone.