Many people believe that countries should produce food for the whole population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Experts throughout the developed and developing world have debated whether it is necessary for a country to take the responsibility of food production for all national inhabitants and cut down food import as far as possible. Although it is urgently essential for a country to ensure its food quantity is enough, I disagree that food import should be reduced to the minimum level. This essay will analyze the reasons, using examples from the IMF and the Chinese government to demonstrate points. On the one hand, there is no doubt that a nation should apply itself to produce enough food in an attempt to satisfy all country deweller's dweller's jeweller's demands for daily diets. As food is one of the basic needs for humans to live, the importance of food production and supply cannot be overstated, especially when the country is suffering from some of the special periods. For instance, a recent report by the IMF shows that as one of the agricultural countries in the world, Ukraine can always guarantee enough cereals and crop supply for their people during the war against Russia. This is the main reason why few people in this country are suffering from staying hungry. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that sufficient food production is a necessity for any part of this world. On the other hand, it is unreasonable to minimise the food import in this day and age, as it is am important approach to develop local economy. With the increase of living standard, modern citizens prefer to have some luxurious food which somewhat cannot be satisfied by merely domestic supply. For that reason, some local companies could grasp this opportunity by importing such foreign food to satisfy inner market, which has become an effective resource for many countries to generate revenue and boost economy. For instance, an extensive study by the Chinese government indicates that in China, the yearly demands for lobsters is around 1.5 million while the number of local lobsters is lower than half of it. Under this circumstance, importing lobsters from Australia can perfectly fulfill such demands and also have brought about over an average 270 million-dollar profit for Chinese merchants every year. Thus, it can be stated beyond doubt that food importing is indispensable since it is likely to satisfy individual's requests and benefit economic developments. In conclusion, although a nation should try its best to ensure food production, claiming that importing food should be reduced as much as possible is absolubtely not a wise option owing to its contributions to both individual and economy. It can be predicted that in the future importing food will increasingly grow in importance.