The government should spend money on trains than roads To what extent do you agree or disagree

Some people believe that the administration should spend more on the railway systems than on freeway systems. I strongly agree with this statement because trains are environmentally friendly and generate better revenue than any other modes of transport. The advent of the first steam engine during the early 18th century was a great boost to the industrial revolution,which further gave a boost to the industrial revolution. So far railway systems are the backbone of the economies of various countries. Taking the example of Indian Railways which was started during the colonial period by the Britishers, is the most profitable venture to date. It also provides jobs both directly and indirectly to millions of people across the nation. Investing in railways gives long-term benefits such as secure income for an unforeseeable future and the cost of maintenance which is quite less than the road systems. Furthermore, the railway's systems are environmentally friendly,as they can effectively carry more than 500 to 1000 people in just one journey. This is the need of the hour as the world is struggling with problems like global warming etc. For example, the Delhi metro a mini version of the train system carries around 80 lakh passengers in one day whilst giving better alternatives than road transport. The air quality in the region has gone better and the road has become less congested. In conclusion, the train systems are more rewarding than any other form of transportation. They are reliable and have good investment return ratio than any other form of vehicle. I believe that government should take trains a priority for long-term benefits.