‘It is important for foreigners to know something about the history and culture of the country they live in.’ Discuss.

Moving to a new country is equally exhilarating and scary. It is imperative for the newcomers to keep up-to-date with the, traditions and antiquity of the nation they decide to move in. The essay further talks about the significance of understanding and embracing the culture of a different country. Firstly, knowledge bridges the cultural gaps between nations and aids in building connections with the local people, thus helping the novices to settle in a new country seamlessly. Additionally, every country has a unique way of greeting each other, for example – In Japan, people bow down and in the west, people shake hands. This plain awareness also shows respect towards others. Additionally, it gives the opportunity to explore uncommon places and find different sources of entertainment. On the contrary, a lack of understanding would make it troublesome to get connected to the place and its people, thus the feeling of loneliness would never be outgrown in a person’s mind. For instance, in Canada, giving tips to restaurant staff is quite common and seen as an emblem of courtesy. It is considered offensive if not followed. To sum up, it is vital to understand and accept the culture of country.