With the rise of E-book comes the decline in paper books. some people see this as a good step forward, while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In recent years, the development in technology has made things easier, and many companies,industries and hospitals are diverting from paper to paperless ways of storing information. Some people see this as the better way while others are of diverse opinions. This essay will be discussing the merits and demerits. There are several reasons why people prefer e-books to paper. Firstly, information are easily saved and retrieved, this is because the computer stores all the information with names, numbers,alphabets or phrases for easy retrieval. For example, in a modern hospital, most patient's data are stored in their computers, so if the patient revisits, the stored data will be accessed for continuity of care. Secondly, it saves cost because the money spent on getting materials such as papers,pens etc that are used in documentation can be diverted into other resources. Thirdly, it makes work easier and faster, one can easily type information and transfer it to the next person for approval. For instance, in a bank setting, a cashier will collect money from a customer, confirm the amount and approve it and then send the details to a higher sector to cross-check and credit the customer. There are also some cons to Paperless organization and one of the biggest problems is an electricity outages. In some developing countries, this has a serious effect like delaying work, causing traffic among customers, unsatisfied customers, frustration etc. thereby, affecting the image of the company. In addition, it can be hacked, and corrupted and information stored can be lost, if not properly handled by the information technology personnel in the industry. In summary, E-book technology is the best way of providing good services than the use of the paper books.