Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families, but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend

These days, many people tend to bring their elderly relatives into care homes or nursing homes rather than taking care of them. However, it is necessary to consider both benefits and drawbacks related to this trend. To elaborate, since people work for many hours every day, they do not spend much time staying together with their relatives. Besides this, women who have one or more chidren need to look after their kids after they have picked them up at school. As a result, elderly people might be brought into nursing homes especially when they suffer from chronic diseases or psychiatric disorders so doctors and nurses can treat them with more effective therapies there. Admittedly, those who remain in care homes could make new friends whenever they feel good. However, when people become older, they all have the desire to live in their comfortable houses due to the fact that any item they keep there allow them to remember their own life. Furthermore, they could miss a lot any person who belongs to their family even though their relatives often come to visit them in the places they must stay in. In conclusion, I personally think that elderly people could live with a care worker or a nurse in their houses if they were not able to live on their own. Indeed, anyone would be happier to stay in the places that are very familiar to him o her.