Some people feel that boarding schools are excellent option for children, while other people disagree for a number of reasons.consider both sides of this debate and reach a conclusion.

It is often argued that boarding schools are beneficial to young people whereas some believe that they are not. In this essay, I shall discuss both sides and end with my opinion. To begin with, it is undeniable that children can learn discipline if they stay at boarding schools because there are rules to follow such as time to eat and time to sleep. As there is a chance for them to mingle with other children at their age, they can develop social skills which are valuable for their future careers. Besides, they also can learn how to stand on their feet. For example, my neighbour’s son attended a boarding school for 3 years. He used to rely on his parents for everything. However, after the 3-year stint there, he became more independent and disciplined. He learned how to take care of himself. On the other hand, there are downsides to attending boarding schools. One of them is the quality of the school. If the guardians there are not qualified or the services provided are not up to the standard, it can have a detrimental impact on the development of children. For instance, if meals are not prepared with nutritious ingredients, it can result in malnourishment and children cannot learn how to have a balanced meal. In addition, young people tend to imitate their peer’s behaviour. Therefore, if they happen to make friends with bad influences, they might end up being addicted to drugs as they are young and cannot differentiate between what’s right and what’s wrong. To conclude, in my opinion, I agree that boarding schools are a great place for young people to learn and grow with discipline and many valuable life skills. But, parents should check the reputation of the school that they intend to send their children to carefully.