Some people believe that sports competitions are a source of emotional stress for young people. Therefore, youth should be banned from participating in sports competitions. Do you agree or disagree?

There is belief among some people that the sports competitions are not good for emotional wellbeing in the youth and should be refrain from participating in sports. I strongly disagree with this statement because sports help in overall mental and physical development. Sports competitions dates back thousands of years to Greek civilization which gave birth to Olympic games. The Greeks believed that sports competition were equally important as much as the politics and diplomacy. Taking an example of studies conducted by the Univeristy of Western Sydney, children who actively participate in sports show signs of early mental development. Furthermore, this development helps young ones in handling real life stress. Moreover, banning or limiting sports competitions will do more harm than good as little or no competion will result in no sports participation. This is proven fact that the bigger the reward bigger the participation will be in any activity. This will negatively effect the health of the children who are already victim of problems like obesity, mental health etc. For example, the sports time allocated with the education module helps children vent out the stress of studies and exams, which in general keeps them healthy. Some of children who are interested in making career in sports may get discouraged to participate. In conclusion, I would disagree that sports ranking causes emotional distress but on contrary they teach how to control and react to certain emotions and lead a healthy lifestyle. Sports and related activities should be increased for all round well being.