Developments in science and technology have caused environmental problems. Some people think that a simpler way of life will protect the environment, while others believe that science and technology can solve environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is hard to deny that a simpler lifestyle can reduce the consumption of all kinds of resources. Such a fact leads some people generate the opinion that this way of life will protect our environment. However, I firmly believe that the development of science and technology is the best way to tackle the environmental challenge. First, most people were used to enjoying the convenience and wealth which are all provided by modern technology. To be more specific, all the things arround us like equipments, facilities and constructions, are the results of science and technologies. If we choose a simpler way of life which means keeping away from cutting-edge technologies, we would give up the high-level quality of live and come back to an ancient lifestyle. In this way, most people have to loss their job and becoming a farmer to feed themselves. In addition, we are likely to shopping online nowadays, but in a simpler way, not only can we not use the internet at home, but we would find there are so few commodities we can buy in stores. Overall, the try that making all of people give up their present life is unfeasible and impossible. There is an opinion that considering the boom of global population, there will be not enough resource resouces for us to exploit in our planet. Such a fact dedicates that human being should return back a simpler way of life and reduce the consuming of resources including but not limited water, electricity and oil. As a result, we will get a long term benefits and positive perspective in the future. But as the statement is examined meticulously, we can find that it is in fact a lame since that with the developing of technology and science, we recognise our earth deeply. Thus scientists has find many new resources like solar, wind power and so on which could provide power for our live constantly. In conclusion, I think going back to an ancient lifestyle is unfeasible and impossible in the modern age. The most effective way to overcome environmental problems is keeping developing technology and science step by step. It is true that many offenders will return to prison after being released as they find it difficult to come back to society. I firmly believe that it is a joint effort from both government and individual citizens that can overcome this challenge. In conclusion, I maintain that financial situation and cultural background combined cause the problem. From my perspective, effective policies and individual actions can tackle it to some extent.