Which way do you think is the best for a student to make new friends? 1. joining a sports team 2. participating in community activities 3. Traveling

Making new friends is an art that every student needs to master. There are a lot of ways that can end up improving this social skill, and joining a sports team is among the best. The other ways may include traveling or participating in community activities. Although these two options provide the opportunity to meet new people and are undeniably fascinating, they are not feasible for young people. Not to mention, students need to have their parents’ permission and are financially dependent. On the other hand, joining a sports team sounds appealing to me for two main reasons. First, joining a sports team lets students learn teamwork, which is a crucial asset when it comes to making friends. As a team member, you will learn how to react to others, how to tolerate others, and how to collaborate with others to achieve a special purpose. These skills are all needed to make new connections and maintain them. With social skills, you will be able to easily read between the lines and react immediately. For example, in volleyball, you learn to detect and understand the body language of your teammates and your opponent. Personally speaking, after playing these games for more than two years in high school, and gaining the ability to understand people without using words, I finally understood, Suzan, my current best friend, wanted to make a close connection with me. Only then, do we able to establish a close bond with each other. Second, joining a sports team is not only affordable but also an easy way to find friends. Sports classes are an essential part of every educational system, and they are often provided without extra charge. This way, there is a high chance of attendance by a huge portion of the whole student body, and when the number of students increases, it is more probable for peers to find a good match. In other classes, groups and activities students spend a much lesser amount of time, therefore, the likelihood of making new friends drop sharply. In short, making new friends needs two magical ingredients, skills and time. To build a meaningful relationship, you have to spend the right amount of time and be able to communicate smoothly. Being a team player may increase the chances of this phenomenon, and needless to say, like other activities, students can easily reap the rewards if they put in enough time and attention—unless they want to lose friends.