It has been said that reading for pleasure is better in developing imagination and language skills than watching TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Numerous people strongly believe that reading for pleasure is better in developing our imagination and language skills, than watching cable TV. Such a big number of individuals could not be wrong, so this opinion has a lot in common with the truth. On the one hand, reading is the best way to push our imagination, while reading we imagine episodes, which are described on the list of papers. Every reader could imagine a character's facial features in a unique way, so this effect could be reached only while reading. Moreover, lexical and language culture are clear and presented in an almost ideal way, there are no words which distract language. For instance, it will be very hard to find abbreviations such as lol, which do not decorate the language. On the other hand, watching TV has become mainstream, which has a strong impact on our society. People live passive life lifes, so they spend hours in front of TV. However, in some cases it has a good impact on our imagination, because TV series are a plot for fanfiction, which prolong life for a show. Furthermore, watching TV on the language, which you want to know might help you to reach significant progress, because students listen how to pronounce words in an accurate way and it is very useful in learning a new language. To sum up, I think that despite the growing popularity of TV, the best way to develop imagination and language skills is reading, because you could imagine characters in unique way and catch an ideal language culture.