Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Parts of today’s society believe that giving permission to children to make their own choices on daily situations (food, clothes, entertainment, etc…) can easily lead to the formation of selfish individuals who only cares about themselves. However, others think that making decisions about circumstances on their own is essential. Personally, I strongly approve of the second idea. Firstly, a number of parents nowadays don’t let their children take actions themselves because of the lack of trust. As life develops more rapidly, numerous hazardous subjects are exposed to the child, which leads to them straying into the wrong path. Secondly, This way of thinking results from the parents’ belief that by making decision independently, children have a tendency to neglect others’ opinions, work on everything on their own, consequently meaning the occurrence of misbehaviours. On the other hand, not every person agrees this mindset. Children making decision themselves is extremely crucial as parents aren’t going to be around forever to help them whenever they are in need. Moreover, because of how much time shortens when society modernizes, people tend to mind their own business, resulting in a reduction in the tendency to think about others. As a result, not only children but also adults have to practice making choices according to themselves. As stated above, I think it is inevitable that children soon have to choose everything themselves as soon as possible, as this is a way to raise their self-awareness of their surrounding, and also serves as a method to support the child’s ability to thrive in the harsh future. On balance, it is fair to say that even though there exists belief that allowing children to make their own choices results in a society where people only think about one’s wishes, it is especially important for the child to start to decide on everyday’s matter.