In many countries, people like to eat more food from other regions than can be grown in a local area. As a result, much of the food has to come from other regions. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In several countries, people prefer to eat more food from other regions rather than consuming local grown food. Doing so, local products are not exploited much and their economy tend to become poorer. In this situation, I believe the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. More often than before due to the new discoveries in food conservation, non local products are less healthy than the local ones. This because they have to be conserved for the period of their transportation. Therefore, with an increased consume of food from other regions, people can get several illnesses caused by the high chemical treatment done by the food industries. For example, several cases of lysteria listeria, which is a disease to the brain, occured in different individuals after they ate different long termed products from Germany. Another downside of this trend is related to local economies represented by the farmers and the small companies, which are getting poorer and are losing jobs due to the bigger food industries. Thus, local resources are not exploited and KM zero products are not consumed enough to satisfy the farmers. Although is true that these products are more expensive than the one from the bigger production, People should contribute and help local people work by buying, time after time, some products which are healthier and can help poor farmers keep going in their life.