It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

These days, young people often decide to work or travel for at least a year, after they finish attending school. However, it is necessary to consider the benefits and drawbacks related to this. To elaborate, nowadays, students often take a year off working or travelling before they go to university. Indeed, many of them help their parents to manage their own business. Admittedly, in case they are not willing to work with their relatives, they are in search of the job they like so they are more independent and autonomous earning their first salary. Besides this, someone could travel for one year if he or she has the lucky to belong to a wealthy family. However, when young people take a year off after they finish school, their parents do not understand the reason why their children do not have the desire to go to university. Indeed, they are often worried about the fact that their children might never decide to entry the university if they got their first job and salary. In conclusion, I personally think that any person should reflect on the profession they would like to do for a long time. Furthermore, any student who works or travels for one year will remember that experience forever.