Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion?

It is argued by some that the purpose of learning a new language is for travelling to or working in a new country, while others say that this is not the main purpose of learning an international language. I believe that while learning to communicate very effectively can be one of the other reasons for learning a new language, the only purpose of learning a foreign language is to travel and work because of the requirement for proof of language proficiency. On the one hand, one of the reasons why people learn a foreign language is to communicate very effectively. That is because it will help you to interact and communicate with other people easily and will allow people to express their feelings very effectively. For example, most of the YouTubers in Somalia speak English to speak communicate with other fans around the world. Despite this, I would argue that the only reason for learning a new language is to travel and work. On the other hand, the number one reason why people learn a new language is to travel and work because of the requirement to prove their language proficiency. That is to say, when a foreigner wants to work in a foreign country it is a requirement to speak and write the national language of that country to effectively communicate with people. This is why foreigners have to prove their language proficiency to not encounter any communication barriers. For instance, there are millions of people who sit the IELS exam each year to prove their language proficiency to travel or work in English-speaking countries. For this reason, I believe this is the only reason why people learn a foreign language. In conclusion, although learning a foreign language can help to communicate effectively, I think that the only reason why people learn a new language is to prove their language proficiency to work or travel to a foreign country.