Today due to advanced medicine, people are living longer. Therefore, the number of elders is expected to exceed that of young people. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In the era of cutting-edge technology, where people's lives are so much driven by applied science, improvement in the quality of living and life expectancy of common folks are something which cannot be ignored. Owing to this, we are expected to find more elders around us than youngsters in near future. This essay will analyze both the benefits and the drawbacks of this scenario till my conclusion is reached. To begin with, the most important advantage of modern medicine is the enhancement in healthcare facilities which ultimately increases the life span of people, especially middle-aged and older. For instance, in the past there was no cure for breast cancer and many women used to die of it even in their 40's or 50's, however, with the advent of better diagnostic measures and treatments, its cure was found and many ladies can live a normal life again. Therefore, developments in the medical field gave new lives to plenty of women from all around the globe. On the contrary, there is only one disadvantage that I see in providing splendid health-related facilities to too many old folks, which is that it may result in an increase in their population and eventually innumerable dependent adults in society. For example, they may outnumber teenagers and young adults which can cause an imbalance in the quality of the population and distribution of resources. Hence, society will have a bunch of old citizens everywhere living their lives depending on their young family members and even the state. To conclude, advanced medicine has done a tremendous job in improving the duration of life, however, society does not need old and feeble men and women to keep it moving, rather young enthusiastic folks are required for building a good community. In my opinion, modern medicine has a great many advantages which will always outweigh its disadvantages.