The tradition that famliy gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts on families and societies?

The practice of assembling around the meal table in a family is vanishing nowadays. The main cause of this is the over usage of electronic gadgets and lack of time, however, this practice has some negative impacts on families and society such as the decline in social interactions and mental health. To begin with, of the many reasons, the major one is the over-use of electronic equipment such as mobile phones and computers. To clarify, parents and children are busy with their own duties online and they prefer to have food in separate spaces according to their comfort. In addition, mobile apps such as Instagram, Facebook, Whatsapp and many other available games are taking the position of a companion among individuals these days. Furthermore, working parents are struggling between their official work and household jobs. Thus, they tend to forget the needs of their offspring! To illustrate, there are a plethora of students that I taught, living under the care of their grandparents or relatives. Consequently, this practice has some effects on the home and community, such as the parents who are working are unable to meet their children and have food together. As a result, those kids may show inconvenience while they are in a public and they may lack communication skills. For instance, a study conducted by Teacher Trainees at MG University, Kerala, depicted that 47% of school students are hesitant to come in front of an audience because of the deficiency of care from their parents. Moreover, the life of elder members of the family also becomes stressful because of the absence of any activities such as casual family talks, and outdoor games with their kids and grandchildren. In conclusion, the tradition of having food together in a home is disappearing because of the hectic lifestyle and use of phones and laptops,, however it affects society as well as the mental health of individuals, especially children.