Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Crime has increased dramatically over the period of decades. It is often argued by some people that criminals should be behind the bars for a longer period of time to reduce crime rates, whereas, people on the other, opine that there are other ways which are better than increasing prisoner's sentences. In this essay, I shall discuss both views followed by my opinion. At the outset, some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to increase the length of criminal imprisonment. In this way, that person will not get another chance to do a crime, also other people who are involved in different types of crime will be reluctant to do bad things. For Instance, If authorities will keep one gangster behind the bars, and cut off his communication from outside, then he will not be able to do further crimes. Therefore, it is important to increase punishments from years to decades. On the other side, I think there are many other ways to lower the rate of crime. Firstly, there should be proper sessions in jails, to brainwash all the bad things from the person's mind. So, that person can improve himself and comes out with good thoughts only. Secondly, the government should find the root cause of the problems in which crimes are increasing. For example, robberies are increasing so that poor people can fulfil their basic needs, so if their basic necessities will get fulfilled then obviously there not be any robberies. Hence, finding the solution and causes of the problem are the best ways to reduce crimes all over the world. To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that increasing the time of imprisonment is one way, but there are many other best ways such as finding causes and their solutions to various criminal problems that can lead to a decrease in crime.