Young people spend less of their free time with their family nowadays. What are the reasons for this? Are there more negative or positive sides to it?

The youth of today has more choice and freedom than ever before. When they are not working or studying, many of them see less of their families than they used to. In my view, there are very few advantages to this development, some causes of which I will explore in this essay. To begin with, there are a number of reasons teenagers and those in their twenties are with their families less during their leisure time, the main one being the need for them to work. A good example of this is in Indonesia where studies have shown that an increase in the cost of living has forced parents to ask their children who are still at school to work in the evenings and on Sundays and persuade those already in work to do overtime or work two jobs. Although this brings in much-needed funds, it comes at a huge cost, depriving families of important time to relax and spend time together and causing stress and ill health through overwork and lack of sleep. Families these days are also unable to enjoy each other’s company as they used to because young people are under increasing pressure. They are compelled to study and train in their spare time in the hope of securing a place at the best university or College or, if already in work, develop further skills to ensure they keep their positions and are favourably considered for promotion. This pressure to succeed in studies and work is huge as demonstrated by research by the London School of Economics, which revealed a huge increase in hours worked in an unpaid internship positions both for those still students and for young graduates hoping to persuade a company to employ them. Again, the loss of precious time with families cannot compensate for the advantages which ensue although promotion may be achieved or jobs secured by this practice. In conclusion, once that time with family has passed it cannot be regained. Clearly, whatever positives there are for young people from increased income or better job opportunities they cannot outweigh the negative impacts of spending less time with their families.