In Western Countries people spend a lot of money on their pets. They buy special food for cats and dogs, buy them toys and often pay high fees for medical treatment. Some people think this is a waste of money and argue that pets are dirty and dangerous. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a pet? Do people spend too much money on pets?

There is no denying the fact that raising an animal is always arguable. While it is commonly held belief that pets present the perfect company for human, some people see that they are extremely dangerous and not clean, moreover, spending too much money on them is just a waste. In this essay, I will list some benefits plus a few disadvantages of having an animal, then analysing the fact of paying a lot for them. First of all, aloneness in not one of the man’s character that is why he is always searching for a company, it is the main reason for choosing pets such as dogs and cats, whom make them feel loved and secured. In addition, after destroying their natural home for building’s construction, many creatures are becoming homeless with no essentials to live, that is why we need to take responsibility as we are the main cause and try to provide to them other safe places to live. Second of all, they are also several challenges of having an animal on your house, unfortunately some of them stay wild and could not be domestic and friendly as we wish, as a result they became a real danger for our families, the latest statistics of home’s accidents prove that 20 per cent are caused by pets. Another point is that animals could present a real centre of germs and bactteries if we did not pay enough attention, that is like having a centre of diseases inside your property. Finally, pets give us love, security and company, in contrast they also need love, attention and efforts which cost a lot, so for every one who could not provide this necessities for his animal and take this huge responsibility, it is better to not have one. To sum up, with all its benefits and disadvantages, having an animal stay a huge commitment and important investissement not every person are able to make.