Unemployment is a serious issue throughout the world. A number of changes need to be made to reduce the problem. What should a government do to solve this issue?

It is unquestionable that the growing population of the world and the advance in sciences and technologies are making unemployment one of the pressing problems in most countries. This essay will suggest ways of reducing the unemployment rates. To start with, one obvious solution would be to boost human capital through education. And this could be achieved through offering population training programmes and thus improving their knowledge and skills. One obvious example would be for the governments to fully fund vocational training in the areas where there is a constant shortage of qualified staff, for instance, in culinary arts, automotive technologies, and health services. New and relevant qualifications will make the workforce more employable and raise the level of labour productivity. Even though this sounds like a long -run strategy, it will pay off and reduce the unemployment. Another suggestion for the governments would be to introduce more relevant policies supporting the development of private businesses both on a bigger and smaller scale. This support should mainly involve the reduction of taxes, for example, income and employment taxes. If supported, more and more people will be interested in starting up their own companies and this will lead to the overall strengthening of the economy and growth of employment. As a result, there will be newer jobs that will range from physical labour and production to sales, administrative and engineering work, depending on the type of business. To conclude, this essay suggested that governments should combat unemployment by increasing the opportunities to get specialised training and encouraging the growth of the private business sector.