Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the introduction of free social activities in the high school curriculum is being popular among some individuals. I strongly believe that this type of work should be an integral part of school programmes. There are some benefits to introducing unpaid work in high school period. First, it is very beneficial for the whole of society. In other words, local authorities and non-profit organizations would be needed for volunteers or free workforces in order to allocate their budgets for carrying out plans, thus when pupils help them, they can dedicate more money to other activities. Furthermore, doing volunteer activities leads to developing children’s personal skills in the early years of their lives, which have a crucial role in their future life. For instance, when students engage in social work, not only they will expose to people with various backgrounds and age groups, but also they can develop their communication abilities. However, despite the aforementioned merits, there are some people who do not agree with this idea. They think that the high school period has significant effects on students' lives, so, people who are school planners should be focused on enhancing pupils’ performance during the school period. For example, students have to prepare for entrance tests in college during the education period, and they don’t have extra time for doing social work. But, all these limitations can be managed by changing educational policies. To sum up, in my opinion, free community service should be a mandatory part of the curriculum of education. It has benefits for the whole society and develops interpersonal skills in children.