Some educationalists think that international exchange visits will benefit teenagers at school. To what extant do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, a vast number of education policymakers brainstorm that foreign student exchange programs could be beneficial to educatees at modern schools. As this stands to be a debate based on some adverse effects, I believe that the upside outweighs the downside since it creates great opportunities for exposure and cultural exchange. On the one hand, it is believed that youths are in the developing stage and have the full capacity of exploring their horizons, therefore it will be meritorious if the institution of learning arranges international exchange programs which could help them learn new foreign cultures and improve their skills. For example, research conducted in China revealed that 70 per cent of the adolescents who embarked on the cultural exchange exposition in 2015 are proven to accelerate in their spoken English. On the other hand, some educators feel that the cost of planning for such an exchange visit will be pricey, thereby becoming difficult for any average family to afford. Additionally, pupils who cannot stay away from their parents for certain period of time tend to be homesick when they go abroad. For instance, the educational institutes in Nigeria look less on exchange trips as expenses will be incurred in such programs, in addition, her citizens would find it difficult to support themselves financially. In conclusion, foreign expositions could be advantageous to students based on new cross cultural exchange and enhancement on their abilities, however, financial burden and homesickness of pupils could stand as disadvantages. Overall, the positives supercede much higher than the negatives.