Some young people like to copy the behaviour and clothes of famous people today. Why might this be the case?  What problems can it cause?

In this day and age, the young generation receives many influences from their idols. Therefore, some might be concerned about the potential drawbacks of this movement. This essay will elaborate on the reason for the youth imitating influencers’ lifestyles, as well as suggest some possible problems caused by this trend. To begin with, while it is a fact that teenagers are at the age of finding their identities, the youth usually imitate the actions of idols they admire as a process of trial and error to find their own preferences. Moreover, the effect of peer influence is another possible reason. Friends play a vital role in teenagers ’ life, so they tend to do everything like members of their groups to gain acceptance. In this respect, once teenagers start copying the behaviour of famous icons, their friends who still doubt their styles usually follow that friend’s act, making the trend of everyone in the same generation having the same lifestyle. On the other hand, some possible damaging effects of following others’ behaviours exist. Firstly, most youngsters are unaware when they imitate inappropriate behaviour, leading to them committing unlawful behaviours. For example, many hip-hop stars are notorious for using drugs, misleading young minds that this is socially unacceptable. Secondly, the trend of keeping up with trendy lifestyles results in teenagers living beyond their means, ending up with their parents spending money on unnecessary clothes and gadgets. From this perspective, this trend can lead to financial problems in many families. In conclusion, while developing their personality and peer influences are resulting in the trend of youngsters copying the behaviours of celebrities, this development is contributing to teenagers committing unacceptable behaviours, as well as financial problems of their parents.