Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

Nowadays, the popularity of merchandise is playing a more important role than meeting the public’s real need. In my opinion, I think the disadvantages outweigh the advantages, and this situation should be changed. Some people are more attracted to the goods’ advertisement, tending to be buying famous things which are not necessary for them. However, the advertisement company and popularities will benefit from this. For example, the corporation selling products will turn to them for help, and all of them can achieve a fortune if customers are appealed to buy things after seeing stunning advertisements. Moreover, people who buy products can also gain a sense of satisfaction. The reason is that if their idols endorse something whenever they need it or not, the fans will feel very satisfied and glad to own their products. Although there are some pros, I think the cons will be more than that. Firstly, buying things without thinking but only shopping on impulse due to the popularity will waste the resources. The reason is that you will never use them and even can’t donate to social welfare institutions because the products do not meet the actual needs of people. Secondly, this situation may allow us to save money slowly. It is because whenever we see new advertisements we will be addicted to buying new things in order to keep up with the fashion. In conclusion, I strongly believe we should not just buy things because of its popularity that will encourage companies to produce unnecessary products. That will not only cause waste but also not improve our lives.