A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world.

Nowadays tourism generate significant contribution to countries economy and provide many advantages, whereas it is thought by some people that without proper management, tourism can cause several disadvantages for a country. In my opinion, I believe even though, tourism causes few drawbacks a country can earn more benefits from tourism. Firstly, tourism plays a key role in many developing countries economy such as Sri Lanka, India and Indonesia, moreover, tourism industry is the second highest foreign income maker in Sri Lankan GDP. Secondly it is helps to develop the countries infrastructures, due to tourism the country tends to develop their transportation, roads and hotels for tourist. This implementation support to creates new jobs for people, for example tour guides, restaurant workers and hotel staff. Creating new jobs helps people to develop their social wellbeing. Tourism supports not only for the country but also for people to have better life. On the other hand, tourism also has several disadvantages, some argues that tourism negatively affect to the countries culture, since people trying to copy and adopt according the tourist native culture (western culture), this leads to disappear the culture of the country, certain people could not understand tourist visiting a country not only to see tourist attractions but also experience the culture of a nation. Furthermore, many tourists bringing their valuable goods, most often these goods becoming a target for criminals, therefore, it is believed that tourism led to increase number of crime activities. However, government can protect tourist and their valuables by implement rules and securities. In conclusion, although, tourism has few negative effects, it has more positive outcomes, not only providing foreign currency but also to enhancing the quality life of people. I believe that these benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks.