Many working people get little or no exercises either during working days or in their free time, and have health problems as a result. Why do many working people not get enough exercises? What can be done about this problem?

It has become a recent trend that working class individuals do not get enough exercise at their workplace and at home and so begin to develope health issues. Even now, the incidence of hypertension and diabetes has increased in working individuals as a result of this trend. This essay explains the causes of and possible solutions this recent development. Nowadays, a lot of jobs require sitting on the same spot for long hours, for example Sam is required to transfer data to an Excel sheet and this takes him 6 hours to complete. In those 6 hours, Sam may not get up from his seat at all, he is required to complete similar tasks everyday. When he gets home, he is too tired and just goes to bed after dinner. Thus Sam begins to live a sedentary lifestyle, with little or no exercises done, this predisposes him to deep venous thrombosis and weight gain which is a risk factor for Diabetes and Hypertension. Sam can overcome this lifestyle by making out time for exercises in his free time, it could be walking or running for an hour or going to the Gym for workouts. During work hours, he can also take a short walk before lunch time or at lunch time to improve the circulation in his lower limbs and burn off some calories in the process. Gym equipment like a treadmill can be installed at offices to encourage more workers to do exercises. Also, regular check up involving physical examination and blood tests at the hospital is another excellent way of getting information about one's health status. This could be done once in three to six months. In summary, working class individuals need to prevent diseases associated with being sedentary by making an effort to exercise as much as possible and going for regular check ups. These actions will go a long way in reducing the incidence of health related issues in this class of people.