It has been said that reading for pleasure is better in developing imagination and language skills than watching TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a debate going on whether reading for pleasure is more beneficial for developing imagination and language skills than watching TV. Nowadays this topic is really relevant because people are trying to find ways to change old traditions of reading books with something which is a bit more entertaining like TV watching. I would certainly agree with this statement because when you read you find a lot of different unheard words which are not being used generally. When a person reads them he might do not think that way, but these unheard, smart words are in his mind and a time might come that he will talk and that word will slip out of his mouth and just after saying it a person will understand that his consciousness did that and he did not even think of using that word. Also, there is a saying that reading might develop your imagination and I would not agree with that. I think that a person can improve his imagination skills far greater with watching fantasy movies, because he gets a visual image and can actually have a visual of these unreal objects. Even if it is just a movie about a family living in a house, a person see how their furniture is placed, what kind of cutlery they have and many other things that can increase imagination. All in all, I would certainly agree that reading books is a better way to improve your language skills, but I have a strong opinion that watching TV is a far greater way to develop your imagination.